the joys of commission-based life

20130326-221029.jpg

I knew pursuing a commission based, entrepreneurial-type job would come with its hardships. Managing money, allocating time, and setting priorities have all been apart of the game since I quit my corporate job. However, there are a few things I was not prepared for. And the whine-fest ensues…

1. When there is no personal cash flow (hubs man is supporting the house/important bills until I have established business), the respect for what I do spend increases ten-fold. No more random thrift shopping days. No more “feel good” purchases. Oh you thought you needed the new Justin Timberlake CD? I give that a serious grumpy cat “NO”! Since going into real estate, I’ve found that respecting those that are supporting you is so very important. And you should also respect yourself to watch your spending. I’m sure this is how multi-billionaires are born, right?! Right?!!! Obviously I still struggle for time to time. You don’t just turn around supporting your own earnings/spending since you were 16 in just a month. When you’ve committed yourself to an expectation of immediate spending, habits can be hard to break.

2. Social norms suddenly have become ridiculous. I don’t just mean social situations or the definitions put on beauty standards (these things I have already developed sincere and deep feelings towards). But, no, more like the ever-present pursuit of something newer, better, bigger. Why do we let these things define who we are? Work a job that we are not an inherent fit for simply to afford things in which we don’t even need to impress people we don’t even like. Why? Sit at a desk all day being extremely inactive to afford a fancy meal (with grains and sugars that you also don’t need). This is why America is fat, people. Stress, overeating, in-activeness. Why, why, why? To impress those which put an outrageous standard on living (even if it is self-inflicted). Ridiculous…

3. No one is here to tell me how to do things. Since grade school through grad school, I have always had a direction/plan to follow to be what others have deemed “successful”. I followed relentlessly, made the right choices at the right time and was, in others’ minds, successful. Well no one told me that success most definitely does not equal happiness. Now I have the greatest opportunity in the world in front of me. Define my day, help my clients, and enjoy my career on my own terms. Thinking outside the box is totally accepted! Now, of course I have national and state regulations to work within, but how I work/handle my business is totally up to me. This is absolutely scary, but liberating at the same time. Learning to push myself to ask, train, and be more knowledgeable without it being forced on me is still something I must work on daily. But, damn, it sure it awesome!

4. Sales (i.e. putting myself out there, being rejected, repeat) is extremely hard for me. I am not the type to push people to buy, provide information, or commit even when I know something is a good deal. I’ve always sold well before. Mostly because I’m not a complete moron, can read people well, and have a certain amount of social skill I think is required for sales success. Taking calls on the office floor still invokes a certain fear even after doing it for about a month. I’m going to blame it on an awful sales job I once had at a major computer manufacturer. Requiring your staff to sell on every third incoming call really set us up for rejection paralysis. It still lingers with me…ugh. Anyway, I know the basics of sales and should be able to navigate most calls but still get a little anxious and seem to miss out on opportunities because of lack of experience. Damn frustrating, let me tell ya.

5. There is no bigger satisfaction than helping someone. Whether it is through volunteer work, helping a friend, or through providing support for my clients in real estate transactions. If I can help someone reach a goal, find a home, make a better life, then my day is made. It doesn’t take money (trust me if it did, I’d have to get off that bandwagon), just some time, an open mind, and some listening skills. Make a difference every day. It has helped me as much as it has helped the people I have interacted with.

So there’s my thoughts on going (somewhat) entrepreneurial. Life changes can be crazy an old habits die hard, but it can be oh so worth it at the same time.

Leave a Reply

